Study Group
PSG Members
Past PSG Members
Current membership (2020-2023)
Current chair:    
Nick J. Knowles
Chair: 2005-2014; 2020-
Member: 1989-present
The Pirbright Institute, Ash Road, Pirbright, Woking, Surrey, GU24 0NF, UNITED KINGDOM. E-mail: nick.knowles@pirbright.ac.uk
Tel: ++ 44 (0)1483 232441
Fax: ++ 44 (0)1483 232448
Alexander Gorbalenya
Member: 2011-present
Department of Medical Microbiology, Leiden University Medical Center, P.O. Box 9600, E4-P, 2300 RC Leiden, THE NETHERLANDS E-mail: a.e.gorbalenya@lumc.nl
Tel: +31 71 5261436
A. Michael Lindberg
Member: 2005-present
Dept. of Chemistry and Biomedical Sciences, Linnaeus University, S-391 82 Kalmar, SWEDEN. E-mail: michael.lindberg@lnu.se
Tel: ++ 46-(0)480-446240
Fax: ++ 46-(0)480-446262
M. Steven Oberste
Member: 2017-present
Division of Viral Diseases, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), 1600 Clifton Rd. NE, Mailstop A34, Atlanta, GA 30333, USA. E-mail: mbo2@cdc.gov
Ann C. Palmenberg
Member: 1987-present
Dept. of Biochemistry, Institute for Molecular Virology, 527B Bock Laboratories, 1525 Linden Drive, Madison, WI 53706, USA. E-mail: acpalmen@wisc.edu
Tel: ++ 1 608 262 7519
Fax: ++ 1 608 262 6690
Gábor Reuter
Member: 2011-present
Department of Medical Microbiology and Immunology Medical School, University of Pécs, H-7624 Szigeti út 12., Pécs, HUNGARY. E-mail: reuter.gabor@pte.hu or
Tel.: +36-72/536-252
Fax: +36-72/536-253
Peter Simmonds
Member: 2010-present
Nuffield Department of Experimental Medicine, University of Oxford, Peter Medawar Building, Sout Parks Road, Oxford, OX1 3SY, UNITED KINGDOM. E-mail: peter.simmonds@ndm.ox.ac.uk
Tel: + 44 (0)1865 281233
Tim Skern
Member: 1996-present
Max F. Perutz Laboratories, Medical University of Vienna, Dr. Bohr-Gasse 9/3, A-1090 Vienna, AUSTRIA. E-mail: timothy.skern@muv.ac.at
Tel: ++ 43 1 4277 61620
Fax: ++ 43 1 4277 9616
Caroline Tapparel
Member: 2017-present
University of Geneva Faculty of Medicine, 1 Rue Michel-Servet, 1205 Geneva, SWITZERLAND. E-mail: caroline.tapparel@unige.ch
Katja C. Wolthers
Member: 2017-present
Department of Medical Microbiology, Academic Medical Center, University of Amsterdam, Meibergdreef 9, 1105 AZ, Amsterdam, THE NETHERLANDS. E-mail: k.c.wolthers@amc.uva.nl
Patrick C.Y. Woo
Member: 2017-present
Dept. of Microbiology, The University of Hong Kong, HONG KONG SAR. E-mail: pcywoo@hku.hk
Roland Zell
Member: 2005-present
Chair: 2014-2020
Jena University Hospital, Department of Virology and Antiviral Therapy, Hans-Knoell-Strasse 2, D-07745 Jena, GERMANY. E-mail: roland.zell@med.uni-jena.de
Tel: ++ 49 3641 9395711
Fax: ++ 49 3641 9395732